Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Sunday, August 28, 2016

Friday, August 26, 2016

Alberto Ríos

Dark Rubies in a Pirate's Chest


From A Small Story About the Sky

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Monday, August 22, 2016

Saturday, August 20, 2016

Thursday, August 18, 2016

Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Hannah Jane Weber


Treasure 

It rained last night  
and the streets are weeping 
curbs rise from the demure wet 
like the bare shoulders of a woman 

in the distance - 
a whoop of red 
just a little bit of color 
fat with vibrancy 

it asks me politely to look 
I am beseeched 
but softly so 

I bring myself close 
helpless to the tug of temptation 
the wild crimson is caught in a drainage ditch 
defying the darkness that is 
ready to devour 

it is an unclasped necklace 
a snake soon to be slurped 

I reach to touch the baubles 
the buoyant scales 
and pull back with sudden comprehension 

held in the teeth of the drain 
are the bright berry cloaked turds 
of a wild animal 
perhaps the refuse of a relieved raccoon  
as she discarded an afternoon’s worth of treasure 
across the dainty clavicles of the curb 

From I-70 Review, Summer/Fall 2014

Sunday, August 14, 2016

Opal Whitely


Today the Grandpa Dug Potatoes


From Spud Songs

Friday, August 12, 2016